Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council, Kargil

    Though the concept of Hill Council was first fructified in Leh District in 1995 on the pattern of Darjeeling Hill Development Council, it was introduced in Kargil during the year 2003. The then esteemed coalition Govt.; headed by Hon’ble Chief Minister, Mufti Mohammad Sayeed was instrumental in bringing Kargil District in the ambit of Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council for the border development of the people of the area. The Hill Council in Kargil came in to existence in July 2003. In the 30 Councilors team, 26 Councilors were elected from the respective constituencies, 4 Councilors were nominated from the Principal Minority and Women folk.

    The Hill Council is endeavoring to register prompt monitoring of the developmental works by ensuring transparency and accountability in the district administration. Work plans are being made at the grass root level taking the Councilors, Panches and Sarpanches into confidence and are further reviewed at the Block Headquarters in the presence of the Chief Executive Councilor and Executive Councilors.

    Executive Council

    S. No. Name Designation
    1. Shri Feroz Khan Hon’ble Chairman/Chief Executive Councilor
    2. Aga Syed Mehdi Fazily Hon’ble Executive Councilor (Animal/Sheep/Horticulture)
    3. Mr. Mubarak Shah Hon’ble Executive Councilor (Works/FCS&CA)
    4. Er. Phunchok Tashi Hon’ble Executive Councilor (RDD/Tourism/Handicraft)
    5. Mr. Mohsin Ali Hon’ble Executive Councilor (Health/Revenue/Agriculture)


    Number and Name of Constituency Name of Councilor
    01 – Ranbirpora MUBARAK SHAH
    02– Bimbhat SAYEED MOHD SHAH
    03 – Shargole MOHD ALI FOKERFOO
    04–Pashkum KACHO MOHD FEROZ
    05– Tai Suru SYED ABASS
    06 – Parkachik GHULAM MOHAMMAD
    07 – Karsha STANZIN JIGMAT
    08–Padum PUNCHOK TASHI
    10 – Chuliskambo ALTAF HUSSAIN
    11 – Kargil Town MOHD ABASS ADULPA
    12 – Baroo GHULAM MEHDI
    13– Poyen MOHD AMIN
    14– Yourbaltak KACHO AHMAD ALI KHAN
    15– Silmoo FEROZ AHMED KHAN
    16 – Choskore NASIR HUSSAIN MUNSHI
    17– Trespone SYED MUJTABA
    18– Gund Mangalpur SYED MEHDI
    19– Saliskut AGHA SYED HASSAN
    20– Lankerchey GHULAM HAIDER
    21– Thangdumbur SYED AHMAD RAZVI
    22– Thasgam Thuina ABDUL RAHIMAKHUNE
    24– Shakar ZAKIR HUSSAIN
    25– Chiktan MOHSIN ALI
    26 – Stakchay Khangral MOHD QASIM