Ladakh Approval & Monitoring Committee approves Rs 4.7 crore Annual Action Plan under ATMA & PMKSY

    Publish Date: 28 June, 2021

    Leh, June 25: Advisor, Ladakh, Umang Narula, chaired a meeting of the UT level Approval & Monitoring Committee to approve the Annual Action Plan under the Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchayee Yojana (PMKSY) and Agriculture Technology & Management Agency (ATMA) schemes for UT Ladakh.
    The Committee approved Rs 2.7 crore for the Annual Action Plan under ATMA & Rs 2 crore for PMKSY after a detailed discussion.
    Earlier, Advisor Narula reviewed the objectives, allocating funds under the centrally sponsored schemes and the proposed action plan prepared by the Agriculture Department for the year 2021-22.Ladakh Approval & Monitoring Committee approves Rs 4.7 crore Annual Action Plan under ATMA & PMKSY
    Advisor Narula suggested that the Agriculture Department should send farmers to renowned & prestigious agriculture institutions outside Ladakh to provide them exposure to the latest and best agriculture practices.
    During the meeting, Advisor Narula emphasised the need to implement drip and sprinkle irrigation, especially in drought-prone areas of UT Ladakh. The concerned officials were directed to implement these water efficient irrigation systems in Ladakh. An amount of Rs 2 crores was approved under PMKSY so that farmers from Ladakh could adopt these new technologies.
    Besides, the provision of solar water lifting pumps that promote carbon neutrality were also included in the action plan.
    Pawan Kotwal, Principal Secretary, Planning, Forest & Environment; Ajeet Kumar Sahu, Commissioner Secretary, Water Resources/ Irrigation/ Minor Irrigation; Ravinder Kumar, Secretary, Fisheries; Secretary, Animal Husbandry; Srikant Suse, Deputy Commissioner/ CEO, LAHDC, Leh; Santosh Sukhadeve, Deputy Commissioner/ CEO, LAHDC, Kargil; Dr. O P Chaurasia, Director Defence Institute of High Altitude Research, Leh; Director, Animal Husbandry; Dr Mohd Raza; Dr. Deldan Namgil, Senior Scientist (Soil Water Engineer), SKUAST, Leh and Tashi Tsetan, Chief Agriculture Officer attended the meeting.