Election Department

    About The Department

    The Election Department Ladakh, came into existence after formation of Ladakh as a new Union Territory in 2019. The Department is headed by the Administrative Secretary at the level of Secretariat.

    The Department performs the administrative work related to the Department. The administrative work related to the conduct of the elections to the “Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council Leh/Kargil” is handled by the department, apart from performing the necessary work required for the conduct of Elections to the Lok Sabha (as per the direction of the Election Commission of India)/ Local Bodies like Panchayat and Municipal Elections. The District Offices of the Department comprises of District Election Offices, one each at Leh and Kargil district, headed by the District Election Officer i.e. Deputy Commissioner, Leh/Kargilassisted by the Deputy District Election OfficerLeh/Kargil.


    Vision and Mission:

    • Issuance of timely administrative notifications for the conduct of Elections.
    • Preparation and Revision of Electoral Roll.
    • Preparation of healthy and error free electoral roll.
    • Preparation of Voters Identity Cards as per instructions by Election Commission of India.


    Department of Election Department works through following main sections in Civil Secretariat, Leh Ladakh:


    1. General Section (Election Department).
    2. Accounts Section (Finance related matters of ELECTION Ladakh)
    3. Planning Section (Planning related matters of the ELECTION Ladakh)

    General section

     The Election(ELECTION) Ladakh receives communications from different departments of the UT of Ladakh and the Government of India on various issues. These includes issues of general nature not otherwise specifically defined. It also attends day to day administrative matters of urgent nature. This section has a coordinating role over other sections of the department as well as over subordinate formulation under the Administrative Control of Department of Election.


    Name Designation Phone No. Email id Address
    Smt. Padma Angmo,IIS Commissioner/Secretary Election Department Ladakh 01982-256385

    Civil Secretariat, Leh Ladakh.
    Sh. Shrikant BalasahebSuse, IAS


    District Election Officer/Deputy CommissionerLeh




    DC Office, Leh Ladakh,


    Sh. Santosh Sukhadeve, IAS District Election Officer/Deputy Commissioner/ CEO LAHDC Kargil 01985-232216

    DC Office, Kargil
    Sh. Sonam Chosjor, JKAS Deputy District Election Officer, Leh/ Electoral Registration Officer, Ladakh 01982-252049

    01982-251744 District Election office Leh
    Ms. Nargis Banoo, JKAS Deputy District Election Officer, Kargil 01985-232216 District Election Office, Kargil
    Mr. Abied Hussain OSD to Commissioner/ Secretary Election Department Ladakh 9622857476


    Room no.09,  Civil Secretariat, Leh Ladakh, Pin Code:- 194101


    Departmental Wings: –

    Under the Administrative Control of the Department of Election there are two District Election Offices (District Election Office Leh/Kargil) in each district. Further the Election Commission of India (ECI), has designated the “Additional Deputy Commissioner, Leh” of the Union Territory of Ladakh as the “Electoral Registration Officer (ERO)” of the 04-Ladakh Parliamentary Constituency in the Union Territory of Ladakh and the ECI has also designated 15 officers as Assistant Electoral Registration Officers (AEROs) to assist the ERO.

    • Preparation and issue of Electoral Photo identity Cards (EPIC)as per instructions by Election Commission of India to the newly enrolled electors as well as who have been applied for modification / Lost etc.

    Directory of Officers and Officials:

    The Department is headed by Administrative Secretary (Presently, Ms. Padma Angmo, IIS Commissioner/ Secretary ELECTION). The Administrative secretary is assisted in the administrative and policy matters by the following teams of officers with different subject as mentioned below:

    1. Stanzin Donsal Sr. Accounts Officer ELECTION (Deals with all finance related matters of ELECTION)
    2. Ghulam Mohd, AD Planning ELECTION (Deals with all Planning related matters of ELECTION).
    3. Abied Hussain OSD ELECTION (Deals with General Administrative matters of the Department).

    The list of rules, regulations, instructions, manual and records of the Department of ElectionDepartment are as under:

    Secretariat Level:

    1. Recruitment Rules of Non- Gazetted (Union Territory of Ladakh Election Department Subordinate Recruitment Rules, 2022).




    • The budget allocated/ different projects approved for the financial year 22-23 under Special Development Package are as under: –
      Rs. In  Crore Major Head Object Head Name of the scheme/works Approved outlay 2022-23 100% Authorization
      1 2 3 4 5 6
      1 4575 53 Major Works Construction of Election Office for Chief Electoral Officer, Ladakh. 0.50 0.50
      2 4575 53Major Works Construction of EVMs/VVPTs Warehouse at Kargil 1.50 1.50
      Total (Election) 2.00 2.00





    RTI Section

    Any citizen can seek information pertaining to Department of Election in terms of the relevant provision of Right to Information Act, 2005.

    The details of the 1st Appellate Authority and Pubic Information Officer, Department of Election are given as under:

     1st Appellate Authority

    Name Smt. Padma Angmo,IIS
    Designation Commissioner/Secretary ELECTION
    Phone/ Mobile no. 01982-256385

    Address Civil Secretariat, Leh Ladakh,

    Pin Code:- 194101

    Public Information Officer

    Name Mr.Abied Hussain
    Designation OSDElection Department Ladakh
    Phone/ Mobile no. 9622857476

    Address Room no.09,  Civil Secretariat, Leh Ladakh, Pin Code:- 194101