Traffic police organises traffic awareness programme in Leh Sensitise road users to follow traffic rules and regulations

    Publish Date: 23 December, 2021
    WhatsApp Image 2021-12-23 at 4.19.27 PM

    Leh, Dec 23: Traffic Police under the aegis of PHQ, Ladakh organised a traffic awareness programme at New Bus Stand Leh. Pamphlets regarding traffic awareness were distributed among all the stakeholders.
    Deputy Commissioner, Leh, Shrikant Suse appreciated the initiative and asked transport unions, drivers and commuters to obey traffic rules to improve the traffic scenario of the area. He informed that traffic police through Road Safety Engineer conducted a scientific study of road accident data of all Police Stations of UT-Ladakh to prevent road accidents and to save precious lives. He said that the administration is putting every effort to improve the traffic system and informed that the administration is already working on several projects.
    SSP Leh, Stanzin Norboo requested people to obey traffic laws and cooperate with police to ensure smooth traffic on roads.
    SP Traffic, Mohd Rafi Giri informed that accident-prone areas and black spots have been identified based on the scientific study. He said that in the last four years, 202 deaths took place in UT Ladakh on different roads. He requested transport unions and drivers to drive responsibly especially in accident-prone areas and black spots.
    Further, he informed that a separate traffic wing was created last year in August 2020. He further informed that traffic police have collected approximately one crore rupees fine from the violators. He assured that in the coming days’ similar awareness camps would be conducted in different blocks.
    While addressing DySP Headquarters, Rigzin Sandup requested transporters for public-friendly behaviour and asked them to obey traffic rules.
    Similarly, Presidents of Taxi, Bike and Mazda Union also spoke on the occasion and thanked traffic police for conducting the awareness programme.
    At last, District Traffic Incharge, Dorjay Angchuk presented the vote of thanks.
    The programme was attended by ADC, Leh, Sonam Chosjar; ARTO, Leh, Delex Namgyal; DySP Traffic, Mohd Baqir, Yukta Jotwani Asstt. CEO, Beltac AI; Road Safety Engineer, Aditya Magotra and Presidents of all unions.