State Taxes Department

    Brief information of the department:

    State Taxes Department is headed by Commissioner, State Taxes and comes under Secretary of Finance. There are only two offices in each District headed by State Taxes Officer, Circle Leh/Kargil.

    Vision: –

    To build an atmosphere that encourages and incentivises self compliance of Taxes Laws and mobilises revenue in an efficient manner .

    Mission: –

    To provide excellent services to the honest dealers in a fair, professional, convenient and courteous manner with just application of Statutes and use of latest Technological Tools.
    State Taxes Department Union territory of Ladakh is a major contributor to the Tax Revenues. This department manages complete tax administration life-cycle of taxpayers under Goods & Services Tax (GST)/ apart from managing other important acts Motor Spirit and Diesel Oil Act (MST).
    The basic objective of the Goods and Services Tax is to bring all the persons liable to pay taxes in the stream of GST .Goods and Services Tax is a comprehensive tax to be levied on both goods and services.

    Name of the Officer Designation Contact No.


    Mr. Umang Narula Advisor and Finance Secretary 01982-257560
    Mr. K. Mehboob Ali Khan Commissioner, State Taxes 01982–260888
    Mr. Dr. Iftakhar Ahmed Chowdhary Commissioner, Appeal 01982-
    Mr. D C Rajath Kumar Additional Commissioner 01982-256776
    Mr.  Virindar Singh Pawar Assistant Commissioner (Enforcement) 01982-257636


    S.No Name Designation Email
    1. Mr. K. Mehboob Ali Khan, IRS Commissioner, State Taxes 01982–260888
    2 Mr. Dr. Iftakhar Ahmed Chowdhary Commissioner, Appeal
    3 Mr. D. C. Rajath Kumar, IDAS Additional Commissioner 01982-256776
    4 Mr.  Virindar Singh Pawar Assistant Commissioner 01982-257636
    5 Mr. Mohd Yosuf State Taxes Officer N/a
    6 Mr. Phunsog Namgiyal State Taxes Officer (Enforcement) N/a

    S.No Subject Status
    1 Disclosure of Information under Right to Information Act – 2005 Section 4(1)(b) Click Here To View
    General Administration Department
    Title Date View / Download
    Order No. 21-LA(GAD) of 2022: Corrigendum to Ladakh CPMS Guidelines 2021 (Order dated 11.02.2021)_0001 19/02/2022
    Accessible Version : View(468 KB)
    Order No. 37-LA(GAD) 0f 2022: Apportionment of Manpower between Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir and Union Territory of Ladakh. 17/02/2022
    Accessible Version : View(623 KB)
    Constitution of a State level Advisory Body for implementation of Solid Waste Management Rules, 2016 in the Union territory of Ladakh. 15/02/2022
    Accessible Version : View(2 MB)
    Constitution of UT Level Standing Committee. 10/02/2022
    Accessible Version : View(1 MB)
    Order no. 27-LA(GAD) of 2022: Placement of services of the offices of Public Works (R&B) Department by UT J&K at the disposal of UT Ladakh 09/02/2022
    Accessible Version : View(470 KB)
    Constitution of Committees for implementation of the Swachh Bharat Mission SBM-U 2.0 in the Union territory of Ladakh. 03/02/2022
    Accessible Version : View(2 MB)
    Order no. 18-LA(GAD) of 2022: Deputation of Officers/ Officials from UT of J&K to UT of Ladakh 31/01/2022
    Accessible Version : View(524 KB)
    Order No. 16-LAD(GAD) of 2022: Constitution of UT Level Committee for recommending infrastructural, logistic and procedural improvement in organizing national function at Polo Ground Leh, Ladakh 28/01/2022
    Accessible Version : View(508 KB)
    Order No. 15-LA(GAD) of 2022: Apportionment of Manpower between UT of J&K and UT Ladakh 28/01/2022
    Accessible Version : View(278 KB)
    Employees of UT Ladakh retired during the period from January , 2020 to June, 2021- calculation of Gratuity and Cash payment in lieu of Leave- regarding. 26/01/2022
    Accessible Version : View(767 KB)

    Back to RTI page