First LG Ice Hockey Cup 2021 commences in UT Ladakh.

    Publish Date: 13 February, 2021
    LG Cup Inauguration

    Leh: Commissioner Secretary, General Administration Department (GAD), Ladakh, Ajeet Kumar Sahu inaugurated the first LG’s Ice Hockey Cup 2021 at the Ice Hockey Rink, NDS Sports Ground in Leh today. The championship is being organised by the Department of Youth Services and Sports, Leh in collaboration with Ladakh Winter Sports Club, Leh.
    12 teams from both Leh and Kargil districts, including seven men and five women teams, are participating in the tournament.
    The opening ceremony was attended by Secretary, Sports, Ravinder Kumar; Deputy Commissioner, Leh, Sachin Kumar; Director, Urban Local Bodies, Dr Zahida Bano; District Youth Services and Sports Officer, Leh, Tsering Tashi and other concerned officials.
    Speaking on the occasion, Ajeet Kumar Sahu congratulated the concerned officials and the Sports Department for organising the event. He shared that talented ice hockey players and sportspersons from other disciplines would be identified and promoted. He hoped to see players from Ladakh performing well at international levels. He apprised that the ice hockey rinks would be constructed in all the blocks to boost ice hockey.
    Secretary, Sports, Ravinder Kumar, apprised that LG Ice Hockey Cup has been organised for the first time in UT Ladakh. He added that a team from Zanskar is also making its maiden appearance in any ice hockey event. He also shared that figure skating and speed skating competitions have been introduced for more participation of players. Secretary Sports shared that teams from outside Ladakh have been invited to participate in the speed skating event to motivate local players. He also thanked the Municipal Corporation Leh for sponsoring the main event under the Safaimitra Surakhsha Challenge.
    In the inaugural match, Skara beat Kargil A 3-1 to start on a winning note. A Safaimitra Suraksha Challenge signature campaign was launched simultaneously with the event.