Excise Department

    Brief information of the department:

    Excise Department is headed by Excise Commissioner. After Jammu &Kashmir Re-organisation Act, 2019, the Jammu and Kashmir Excise has been extended in both the Union territories.

    The Excise and Taxation Officer supervise the Excise Range Leh-Kargil from only one office which is located in Leh District and comes under the administrative control of Finance Department.

    Excise Department being a major revenue-earning department apart from fulfilling its primary responsibility of revenue collection, the department controls and regulates the liquor intoxicants and discharges the responsibility of making available the same in safe quality to the consumers.


    To reduce the consumption of high alcohol level beverage in Union territory of Ladakh.

    To check bootlegging/smuggling of liquor in the Union territory of Ladakh from neighbouring States/Union territories.

    To bring about greater social consciousness about the harmful effects of consumption of liquor and alcoholic beverages.


    Maximum revenue collection.

    To provide choice of brands and places for consumption to its consumers and a level playing field to all stake holders.

    To ease the licensing procedure for the new applicants in underserved/unserved areas.

    Administrative Department

    Name of the Officer Designation Contact No.


    Mr. Umang Narula Advisor and Finance Secretary 01982-257560
    Mr. K. Mehboob Ali Khan Excise Commissioner 01982–260888
    Mr. D C Rajath Kumar Deputy Excise Commissioner 01982-256776
    Mr.  Virindar Singh Pawar Excise and Taxation Officer 01982-257636
    S.No Name Designation Email
    1. Mr. K. Mehboob Ali Khan, IRS Excise Commissioner 01982–260888
    2 Mr. D. C. Rajath Kumar, IDAS Deputy Excise Commissioner 01982-256776
    3 Mr.  Virindar Singh Pawar Excise and Taxation Officer, Excise Range Leh-Kargil 01982-257636
    S.No Subject Status
    1 Disclosure of Information under Right to Information Act – 2005 Section 4(1)(b) Click Here To View
    General Administration Department
    Title Date View / Download
    Adoption of e-Gazette in the Union Territory of Ladakh for Publication of notifications, orders, standing rules & regulations. 15/09/2021
    Accessible Version : View(677 KB)
    Deputation of Officers/officials from UT of j&k to Union territory of Ladakh. 14/09/2021
    Accessible Version : View(899 KB)
    Constitution of UT Level Advisory Committee for implementation of the Plastic Waste (Management and Handling ) Rules 2016 as amended from time to time. 13/09/2021
    Accessible Version : View(1 MB)
    Constitution of Urban Monitoring and Supervision Committee . 14/09/2021
    Accessible Version : View(775 KB)
    Order: Constitution of State Level High Powered Steering Committee (SHPSC) under Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) 10/09/2021
    Accessible Version : View(567 KB)
    Order: Constitution of District Level Advisory and Monitoring Committees (DLAMCs) Under Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) 10/09/2021
    Accessible Version : View(1 MB)
    Order No. 153-LA(GAD) of 2021: Posting of Junior Scale Officers of 2019 batch of Jammu and Kashmir Administrative Service ( JKAS)Transfers and Postings 10/09/2021
    Accessible Version : View(581 KB)
    Order No. 154-LA(GAD) of 2021: Transfers and Postings 10/09/2021
    Accessible Version : View(408 KB)
    Appointment of manpower between Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir and Union Territory of Ladakh – Extension in the time period for submission of objections/ Verification of credentials thereof 10/09/2021
    Accessible Version : View(637 KB)
    Security deposits and civil deposits in respect of works executed by private agencies in Ladakh lying with the Treasuries with the UT of J&K Reg. 08/09/2021
    Accessible Version : View(857 KB)

    Back to RTI page