Excise Department

    Brief information of the department:

    Excise Department is headed by Excise Commissioner. After Jammu &Kashmir Re-organisation Act, 2019, the Jammu and Kashmir Excise has been extended in both the Union territories.

    The Excise and Taxation Officer supervise the Excise Range Leh-Kargil from only one office which is located in Leh District and comes under the administrative control of Finance Department.

    Excise Department being a major revenue-earning department apart from fulfilling its primary responsibility of revenue collection, the department controls and regulates the liquor intoxicants and discharges the responsibility of making available the same in safe quality to the consumers.


    To reduce the consumption of high alcohol level beverage in Union territory of Ladakh.

    To check bootlegging/smuggling of liquor in the Union territory of Ladakh from neighbouring States/Union territories.

    To bring about greater social consciousness about the harmful effects of consumption of liquor and alcoholic beverages.


    Maximum revenue collection.

    To provide choice of brands and places for consumption to its consumers and a level playing field to all stake holders.

    To ease the licensing procedure for the new applicants in underserved/unserved areas.

    Administrative Department

    Name of the Officer Designation Contact No.


    Mr. Umang Narula Advisor and Finance Secretary 01982-257560
    Mr. K. Mehboob Ali Khan Excise Commissioner 01982–260888
    Mr. D C Rajath Kumar Deputy Excise Commissioner 01982-256776
    Mr.  Virindar Singh Pawar Excise and Taxation Officer 01982-257636
    S.No Name Designation Email
    1. Mr. K. Mehboob Ali Khan, IRS Excise Commissioner 01982–260888
    2 Mr. D. C. Rajath Kumar, IDAS Deputy Excise Commissioner 01982-256776
    3 Mr.  Virindar Singh Pawar Excise and Taxation Officer, Excise Range Leh-Kargil 01982-257636
    S.No Subject Status
    1 Disclosure of Information under Right to Information Act – 2005 Section 4(1)(b) Click Here To View
    General Administration Department
    Title Date View / Download
    Circular No: – 10-LA(GAD) of 2023.Observance of Rashtriya Ekta Diwas (National Unity Day) on 31st October 2023. 26/10/2023
    Accessible Version : View(1 MB)
    Order No: -350-LA(GAD) of 2023:-Constitution of a UT/Local Level Animal Birth Control Monitoring Committee. 25/10/2023
    Accessible Version : View(392 KB)
    Order No:- 349-LA(GAD) of 2023:Appointment of Nodal Officer for coordination with MHA regarding issues of PMO, Home Minister’s Office, Parliament and other Ministries. 23/10/2023
    Accessible Version : View(363 KB)
    Order No: – 348-LA (GAD) of 2022:Adoption of e-Gazette in the Union territory of Ladakh for publication of notifications, orders, standing rules & regulations. 20/10/2023
    Accessible Version : View(295 KB)
    Order No. – 347-LA(GAD) of 2023,Transfer and Postings of JKAS Officers. 20/10/2023
    Accessible Version : View(298 KB)
    Order No. – 346-LA(GAD) of 2023,Transfer and Postings of JKAS Officers. 20/10/2023
    Accessible Version : View(279 KB)
    Order No. 343- LA(GAD) of 2023: Re-constitution of Commission to identify areas adjoining Actual Line of Control for the purpose of reservation under the Jammu and Kashmir Reservation Act, 2004. 19/10/2023
    Accessible Version : View(258 KB)
    Order No. 340-LA(GAD) of 2023: Sanction of Earned leave in favor of Sh. Mohit Sharma, JKAS 16/10/2023
    Accessible Version : View(353 KB)
    Order No: -338-LA(GAD) of 2023.Constitution of Consultancy Monitoring Committee (CMC) for Implementation of Swadesh Darshan 2.0 (SD2.0) in UT of Ladakh. 16/10/2023
    Accessible Version : View(261 KB)
    Order No. 334-LA(GAD) of 2023: Sanction of earned leave in favour of Dr. Vasanthakumar Namasivayam, IAS. 11/10/2023
    Accessible Version : View(338 KB)

    Back to RTI page