Advisor Ladakh reviews implementation of District Environment Plan in Ladakh

    Publish Date: 19 July, 2021

    Leh, July 16: Advisor Ladakh, Umang Narula, today chaired a meeting to discuss the preparation & subsequent implementation of the District Environment Plan (DEP), in accordance with the orders passed by the National Green Tribunal (NGT).
    During the meeting, it was emphasized that the DEP should include Solid Waste, Plastic Waste, Construction and Demolition Waste, Bio-medical Waste, E-Waste Management Plan etc.
    Advisor Narula directed the Deputy Commissioner of both Leh/Kargil districts to prioritize the plan for management of plastic waste, especially single-use plastic waste.
    The concerned officials apprised Advisor Narula that a nodal officer will be designated for each thematic area. It was decided to conduct a workshop in which technical experts from CPCB and GB Pant Institute etc would be invited for providing handholding support to the districts for preparing these plans.
    While discussing the health sector, the Principal Secretary, Health and Medical Education informed Advisor Narula about setting up a common bio-medical facility for which a site would be identified at a place suitably placed and away from the habitations in Leh and Kargil.
    During the discussion on the housing sector, the concerned officials stated that a solid waste treatment plant is in progress in Leh district, whereas the tendering process for the SWM Plant in Kargil is complete. It was further informed that water testing laboratories are open to the public and work on NABL accreditation is in progress. Besides, the work on regulating of groundwater usage is in progress.
    While speaking on the generation of hazardous waste, the officials informed Advisor Narula that 90-150 kg of hazardous waste is generated per annum, whereas the quantity of incinerable waste generated annually is 5400 kg. Similarly, the quantity of land fillable hazardous waste stands at 30-40 kg and recyclable hazardous waste is 2000 kg.
    Dr Pawan Kotwal, Administrative Secretary, Health Department; Ajeet Kumar Sahu, Administrative Secretary, PHE and PWD Department/ Administrative Secretary, Housing & Urban Ladakh; Saugat Biswas, Administrative Secretary, Industries and Commerce/Administrative, Secretary, Information & Technology/ Administrative Secretary, Mining Department/ Divisional Commissioner, Ladakh and Srikant Suse, Deputy Commissioner, Leh & Santosh Sukhadeve, Deputy Commissioner, Kargil, attended the meeting