Advisor chairs first meeting of Ladakh Skill Development Mission

    Publish Date: 8 June, 2021

    Leh, June 7: Advisor Ladakh, Umang Narula who is also the Chairman of Ladakh Skill Development Mission (LSDM) chaired the first meeting of the Governing Council today at the UT Secretariat. The meeting was attended by Administrative Secretaries of various Departments and other members of the Governing Council which included representatives of Directorate General of Training and National Skill Development Corporation.
    Secretary, Technical Education and Skill Development/Mission Director, LSDM, Padma Angmo welcomed all the guests and gave a presentation on agenda points.
    The meeting discussed the strategy to formulate and steer various skill development schemes and to bring necessary synergy, oversight and effective coordination in the implementation of various Skill development schemes across the Departments in UT Ladakh. The meeting also discussed the adoption of resolution by the Governing Council for registration of the Ladakh Skill Development Mission as a society under the Societies Registration Act, 1860 and a broad action plan for skill development for the year 2021-22.
    The Chairman, Umang Narula said that the Mission can steer the implementation of various programmes of the central Government like PMKVY, Deendayal Upadhya Grameen Kaushalya Yojna(DDU-GKY)-Ministry of Rural Development, Integrated Skill Development Scheme (ISDS): Ministry of Textiles, Hunar Sae Rozgartak: Ministry of Tourism, Deendayal Antyodya Yojna- National Urban Livelihood Mission -Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs.
    Talking about the activity list, Mission Director informed that a dedicated team at different levels and monitoring committees have to be established, conduct need analysis, youth database, consult with stakeholders, build TP and SSDM capacity, organise workshop, organise Rozgar and Kaushal Mela etc.
    Further, it was informed that under PMKVY 3.0 already some targets have been given to Ladakh in which around 186 targets under centrally sponsored and centrally managed scheme were for Leh and 160 for Kargil. Under the Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) category of PMKVY 3.0 Ladakh has been given a target of training 400 youth, 200 for Leh and 200 for Kargil district.
    It was informed that under the Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojna (PMKVY), District Skill Committees, DSCs in both the districts have been constituted under the Chairmanship of Deputy Commissioners/ CEO, LAHDCs to steer and monitor various skill training in the districts.
    It was further informed that a district-level skill development Plan (DSDP) will be prepared by the DSCs under the guidance of the State Skill Development Mission and that district-level skill information/service centres under the aegis of DSCs shall be required to be set up in each district.
    It was decided that decentralized skill training for Homestay owners and training for eco-tourism guides and various job roles under Jal Jeevan Mission may be taken up at the earliest.
    Chief Programme Officer, NSDC, Vandana Bhatnagar said NDSC will extend all requisite support to LSDM to carry out its mandate and also extend special training modules for the Director, RDSDE, Santimalan also shared that National Skill Training Institute, NSTI, operating from Polytechnic Leh will be imparting Craftsmen Training Scheme (CTS) in Solar Technician (Electrical) and Smartphone Technician cum App tester from this academic session (2021-22).
    The meeting was attended by Administrative Secretary, Finance Department; Principal Secretary, Planning and Monitoring Department; Commissioner/ Secretary, School Education Department; Commissioner / Secretary, Housing and Urban Development Department; Secretary, Higher Education Department; Secretary, Social welfare Department; Secretary Industries and Commerce Department; Secretary Rural Development Department; Secretary, Labour and Employment Department; Secretary, Tourism and Culture Department; Secretary Animal, Sheep Husbandry and Fisheries Department; Secretary, Agriculture, Horticulture & Floriculture Department; Deputy Commissioner/CEO, LAHDC, Leh and Deputy Commissioner/ CEO, LAHDC, Kargil.